Like nearly everywhere else in the US, drinking alcohol is legal in New Jersey. But there are some restrictions on who can drink, where one can drink, and activities one can participate in when drinking. This goes without saying, but never operate a motor vehicle when drinking alcohol or under the influence of any mind altering drugs, including marijuana. 

Alcohol Laws In New Jersey 

Like everywhere else in the US, drinking alcohol is legal in New Jersey. But there are some restrictions on who can drink, where one can drink, and activities one can participate in when drinking. This goes without saying, but never operate a motor vehicle when drinking alcohol or under the influence of any mind altering drugs, including marijuana. 

Many people are able to have a couple of drinks once in a while without becoming addicted. But because of a number of factors, some people become addicted to alcohol, and its use becomes a problem for the user and their families. Two of the biggest indications of alcohol abuse and addiction are when alcohol intake begins to harm parts of the user’s life, such as dropping performance in school, work, or family gatherings, and when users take risks they normally wouldn’t, such as drinking and driving. 

Below, we’ve compiled some of the rules regarding alcohol and its use in the state of New Jersey. This is simply a guide and shouldn’t be taken as legal or medical advice. But if you do drink alcohol it’s helpful to inform yourself of what legal repercussions you may face when using this drug irresponsibly. 

In addition, if you think you are abusing alcohol or you think you may be addicted, you might need professional help. You can contact us at Harmony Healing Center any time, and we can help get you the treatment you need.     

Underage Drinking In New Jersey

  • No one under the age of 21 may drink in New Jersey
    • Persons under the age of 21 caught drinking can face fines up to $1000 and up to 180 days in jail 
  • If you are under 21 and buy or drink alcohol in a place with an alcohol beverage license, you may be fined $500 and lose your driver license for 6 months
  • If you are under 21, you may not have alcohol in your automobile, even if it’s sealed
  • If you are under 21 and drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in your system the penalties include:
    • Loss of driver’s license for 30 to 90 days
    • 15 to 30 days of community service
    • Participation in an alcohol and driving educational program

Drunk Driving Laws In New Jersey

  • If it is your first offense, and your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher, but less than 0.10 percent and you are found driving a motor vehicle you can face
    • A fine up to $400
    • Up to 30 days in jail
    • Installation of a breathalyzer device on your primary car
    • Traffic school 
    • An insurance surcharge of $1000 a year
  • Increased BAC can result in more severe fines, jail terms, license suspension time, and breathalyzer installation time.   
  • Penalties for a second drunk driving offense include
    • A fine of up to $1000
    • Imprisonment for at least two days and up to 90
    • One to two year license suspension
    • 30 days community service
    • Completion of mandatory alcohol evaluation and awareness training
    • A surcharge on insurance
    • Installation of breathalyzer device on automobile
  • Penalties for a third drunk driving offense include
    • A fine of $1000
    • Jail for 180 Days
    • Drivers license suspended for 8 years 
    • 30 days of community service 
    • Completion of mandatory alcohol evaluation and awareness training
    • A surcharge on insurance
    • Installation of breathalyzer device on automobile

Operating a Boat Or Watercraft While Intoxicated in New Jersey 

  • Laws for those operating boats and watercraft while drinking in New Jersey are similar for those in automobiles. Captains may be asked to perform a field sobriety test or take a breathalyzer
  • Penalties for driving a boat under the influence, if BAC is more than .08 and less than .10, include 
    • One year suspension of boating license
    • A suspension of the motor vehicle driving license for three months 
    • A fine of up to $400
    • Surcharge on insurance
  • Penalties increase for having a Blood Alcohol Content of more than .10
  • Penalties increase for subsequent offenses

Public Intoxication Laws In New Jersey 

  • Public intoxication is not illegal in New Jersey 
  • However, you may be charged with other offenses while intoxicated, such as disturbing the peace

If You Have Had Trouble With The Law Due To Alcohol, It Might Be Time To Get Help

One of the major signs of alcohol abuse and addiction is when alcohol begins to affect other areas of your life. One of the most notable areas is trouble with the law. If you have had trouble with the law, especially repeated troubles such as more than one drunk driving offense, you may be addicted. 

The good news is that addiction is an absolutely treatable disease. Alcohol addiction is a lifelong affliction, but millions of people with alcoholism around the world live happy, healthy lives while sober. If you think you may be addicted to alcohol, give us a call at (888) 978-1697 and we can put you on the road to recovery. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.